DIY Embellishments: Decorative Clips

Hello all!

I recently got an idea for some DIY embellishments.  We have all seen these adorable clips made by Crate Paper (and I do believe Simple Stories makes some too).

SBC_ac-683294.gif

And really, they’re just bobby pins.  (Albeit, adorable bobby pins).  So I thought, Kira, you can make these.  And I did.  So the supplies you will need for this project are:

Glossy Accents

Paper (I prefer 6×6 pads for this project since the designs on the pages are smaller), paper punches (I used a 5/8″ circle, a heart punch and a star punch), or small pieces of ephemera or fussy cut pieces of paper

Bobby pins (I found mine at Hobby Lobby on sale for $1.50 for 20)

Pin (for popping bubbles)

Optional extras:  charms, brads, buttons, and resin shapes

Once you’ve gathered all your supplies, it’s time to get creating!  I think at this point it is best to have a game plan, otherwise you end up with 20 randomly made clips like me.  Ooof.  Either stick with a color scheme or a paper pad, or even try to replicate some for a specific collection.  (Which just gave me the idea to fussy cut images from the Little You collection to create some for my baby book!)

First, you’ll want to punch out your shapes (or fussy cut some).  I did circles, hearts and stars but your options are only limited by your supplies and imagination.

015

Then add some Glossy Accents to your bobby pin and adhere your paper.

I found that if I added the paper to the bobby pin first, there was less curling from the paper during the drying process.

Next, you will add glossy accents to the top of your image creating a meniscus of glue.

021

You may see small bubbles at this point.  If you leave the clip to dry like this, it will dry with bubbles on top.  So this is where you use your pin to pop all the bubbles.  I also use it to make sure the glossy accents has made its way to all the edges.

023

And now you wait…seriously, you have to let it sit for 24 hours.  Make sure your clip is on an even surface and in a dry area of your house.  The glossy accents will dry clear and will harden.

027

If you’d like to watch me create these on YouTube, click here.  I’d love to see what you create!  Tag me on Instagram @kira.gets.crafty!

Until next time,

Kira

2 thoughts on “DIY Embellishments: Decorative Clips

Leave a Reply

