My Scrappy Weakness

We all have one, don’t we?  No matter if you’ve been scrapbooking for 10 days or 10 years.  Mine is mixed media.  I don’t know why it stresses me out so much.  I mean, it basically gives you a license to get messy and not follow any rules.  Maybe that’s why I struggle so much with it.

But over the weekend I found myself binge watching Jessica and Missy YouTube videos and having this craving to get messy.

I don’t have a lot of supplies in the mixed media department.  I just recently increased my Heidi Swapp color shine count from 3 to 6.  I have a cheap palette of water colors.  I have some gesso.  And a small tube of Heidi Swapp texture paste.  And that’s it.

What I love most about Jessica’s videos is her use of acrylic paints.  If you’re a mom with young kids, this is pretty much a staple as far as art supplies go.  However, we were running low so I made a trip to Michael’s for some more while they had a 20% off entire purchase coupon.  And instead of getting the typical kids colors (think primary colors, rainbow colors) I picked out some pinks and teals and yellow that I knew I would love to work with.  (Sorry Jonathan.)

And I created this:

027

I honestly didn’t have high hopes for this layout so I just grabbed a random photo that’s been laying on my desk for months.  I would’ve preferred a black and white photo but thought why bother printing a new one when I will most likely toss this layout in the trash later.  You can see I had a lot of faith in myself during this process.

I started by picking out some paint colors.  I grabbed a magenta pink, bright yellow, a blue and a teal.  And since I don’t have actually paint brushes I just brushed it on with one of my toddler’s foam brushes.  I was okay with some of the colors overlapping so the pink and yellow created an orange and the pink and blue created a purple but tried to steer clear of creating any muddy brown colors.

Once I had a nice base created, I come back with some of my color shine to add splatters.  I used pink, yellow and blue (don’t ask me to go downstairs to look at the exact color names please).

I knew I didn’t want to add too many layers to my photo, so I went the Missy Whidden route and went for tissue paper.  But the only color I had was pink.  Again, I thought, meh, this will probably end up in the trash anyway, so does it really matter?  Positive thinking the whole way through.

I decided to add some clusters beside my photo with thickers and chipboard from the Chasing Dreams collection.

029

I added the string because I had seen it on a layout by Cassie Box and thought it looked cute.  Plus I just got this black and white bakers twine and I am a little obsessed at the moment.

I always have such a hard time choosing a title.  I channeled my inner Mary this time around and decided to play off the bear outfit my son is wearing.  The “serious” foam thicker is from an Amy Tangerine pack I found at Tuesday Morning recently.  It said “seriously” but I cut off the “ly” so my title could read “Beary Serious” since my son has on his most serious face in this photo.

032

I finished off with some enamel dots, gold color shine splatters and a DIY clip embellishment (watch how I made those here).

And then I took a picture and sent it to Mary because I actually really loved how this one came out and I knew I had to be crazy.  But Mary liked it too.

Have you ever stepped out of your comfort zone and ended up with a layout you really love?  I hope this is the beginning of a long and happy relationship between myself and mixed media.

Until next time,

Kira

Leave a Reply

