Meet The Sparklers! (Blog Hop)

18156212_10212588596734029_2036848032168402242_o

Happy Monday, friends!  It’s Mary here and I wanted to pop in real quick to share with you this layout I created for SpiegelMom Scraps using some of their brand spankin’ new summer sequins collections which are being released TODAY!  Woot!  Jody, the owner, has worked so hard putting together sequin mixes that coordinate with so many of the new lines that have come out this year and I can’t be more impressed!

I mean just look at these beauties!

IMG_0036.JPG

Jody also sells Shimmerz products in her shop which I was super excited about because I have had Shimmerz envy for quite some time now.  So I grabbed a “few”.

IMG_0394.JPG

I asked Missy Whidden, the Queen of Shimmerz, “if I could only pick 3 Shimmerz products, what should I pick and in what colors” so, of course, I had to grab her favorite Vibez in Jeni B Blue.  As she would say, “it’s the perfect teal, minty-blue” and I have to agree.  And, because everyone needs a go-to ‘black dress’ in their Shimmerz collection I snagged Vibez in Before Dawn.

IMG_0395.JPG

Let me tell you… that mint ‘Sea U in the Mornin’ Dazzlers?  is.to.DIE.FOR!  Like butter-y, pearlescent-y, smooth-y, yumminess that you want to eat but can’t…because it’s toxic…welll actually! It’s not lol (I just checked) so eat away you weird-o.

IMG_0398.JPG

And I have a fun technique using Paste-eez and sequins coming this Saturday for National Scrapbooking Day.  You definitely won’t want to miss that!

I’m really looking forward to testing out the AcriTonez in my bible.  They’re opaque, vibrant colors that go on smoothly and won’t bleed through the thin pages of my bible.

While I was putting together my swatches I wanted to test out the white AcriTonez ‘3 Sheets to the Wind’ with the other three colors I got to see what that would look like and I loved the outcome!

IMG_0396-COLLAGE.jpg

The white just mutes the colors enough to tone them down and yet they still are vibrant and beautiful.

 

So now that all of my show and tell is done…If you’re new to Create Craft Repeat and our AMAZZZINGNESS, let me introduce ya!  I’m Mary, and I share this creative adventure with my friend, Kira.  We met as pen-pals through Instagram.  I absolutely admired her paper crafting style.  Then I found out that she lives 15 minutes away from my mom (which is 3 hours from me but my family and I visit quite often)!  When I asked if she would like to meet up for a play date to “get our kids together” (….who am I kidding…I could care less if the kids get together, I was just excited for a potential new crafty friend.  Haha!)  she said yes!  My kids ended up catching a cold so we decided to meet up at Hobby Lobby.  After being schooled in the importance of “stranger danger” by her husband, we clicked right away and proved to him that I was a “safe person”.  We connected so fast that we thought we’d create a YouTube channel so that we could spend more virtual quality time together.  And so began Create Craft Repeat.  So really, Create Craft Repeat is for us…and you guys, our subscribers, we are so grateful that you come hang out with us crazies every single week.  You bring us so much joy and encouragement and it really means the world to us!  And if you’d like to see more of our story you can watch our Q&A video.

So enough about Kira…this blog post is about me muhahahaha!  So grab a cup of coffee or tea (or an adult beverage in Kira’s case) and let me introduce you to me and my crazy scrappy style.

IMG_0302

I think this layout can sum me up in a nut shell.  It has stitching, gold, lots of layers, lots of interest, splatters, and it’s pun-y.  I’m pun-y…like not pun-y in a good way but in an eye-roll kind of way.  I get it from my dad.  I really feel like my memory-keeping creations are my legacy that I’ll leave behind for my children so I want my personality to really come out when they flip through them at 50 years old.  By the way, if you don’t get the title, it’s a reference to a Bad Lip Reading song….my family is obsessed and I can recite the words a capella.  <—see total dork here…

I’m also a feelings person.  I love encouraging others, especially women, and who would have thought this could happen through papercrafting?  This is my bigger purpose and goal in sharing my layouts because I once was a closet crafter, afraid to be bold and share my most intimate moments through the things I create.  My fear actually paralyzed my creativity!  I would go months and sometimes years not being creative at all, in any way, shape or form.  Creativity is where I am most vulnerable and, if you are a believer you might relate to this, my most intimate spiritual time.  It only makes sense why it was such a struggle to me over the years!

I’d love for you to stop in and find an extra boost of encouragement on our YouTube channel where I will post the process video for this layout.

I’m over-the-moon excited to be a part of the SpiegelMom Scraps design team this year.  This is my first design team experience and so far, I couldn’t have asked for a better team to be a part of.  The ladies are all so fun and amazing.

Jody will be giving away $20 to spend at her shop for one random person who leaves a comment during the blog hop!  So head over to Rachel’s Blog, wordsandpaperscraps.wordpress.com and leave a comment for even more chances to win!  I’m a total fan-girl of Rachel’s work so you’d be doing yourself a big disservice if you didn’t πŸ˜‰  Also make sure to pop in and take a look at the SpiegelMom Scraps shop to see her new releases, you get 15% off if you use my code!

18033519_10212513915787052_4037375273725972080_n.jpg

XOXO,

IMG_0502

 

IMG_0296

22 thoughts on “Meet The Sparklers! (Blog Hop)

  1. Sharon Barrackman says:

    Gee, I love those sequins and the Shimmerz! I think you’re a wonderful addition to the design team. Although I’ve never subscribed (I will now), I watch a few of the other ladies on You Tube! I really love your layout; it’s very YOU!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Create Craft Repeat says:

      Thanks so much Christine! You just need to go slow. I had a couple pop off from the footer pushing it off the page but I was pleasantly surprised at how little actually fell off. Also there were just a couple that broke in half but for me that’s no big deal…I think it adds character πŸ˜‰ I look forward to seeing your creations as well Christine!! xo, Mary

      Like

  2. suzannalee72 says:

    Hmmm… I’m amassing quite the list of additional Shimmerz goodies I need! What a fun layout you shared! I cannot get the sew on sequins thing to go my way… I need to work on that. I’m looking forward to working with you Mary!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Create Craft Repeat says:

      Oh no! Maybe I should have opened the blog up with an #enableralert πŸ˜€ lol I have the baby Janome ‘New Home’ which is like $50 bucks or so on Amazon. I have definitely tested it hard and it worked great for sewing down the sequins. I bought the baby Janome for a crop weekend so I didn’t have to lug around my full size machine. I was thinking that it probably wouldn’t last but for paper and for crops…it’ll work.
      But it has really surprised me with how much of a work horse it has turned out to be! Well worth the investment. I’m super excited to be working with you as well Suzanna! xo

      Like

  3. karla_yungwirth says:

    Wow Mary! What an awesome layout ❀ and I love how much fun you had testing out your mixed media goodies!! They look delicious πŸ˜‹I'm so happy to be on the team with you, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post πŸ˜‰ Here's to a really fun year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

